It's only Day #2, so I can't say I fully have the hang of this, but surprisingly I haven't been hungry. For dinner tonight, I made Cheesy Beefy Supreme Wraps from my
Hungry Girl 1-2-3 cookbook. It was very easy and very tasty. I made one for Cody, too, but didn't tell him it was "meatless beef". He ended up eating two wraps and asking for more. I told him I was out of tortillas, so he got in the car, drove to Albertsons for more tortillas, and then came home and had me make him a third one! So much for the "meatless beef" I had planned to have for my lunch later this week. He ate it all!
I also managed to complete 1.25 miles on the treadmill this evening after dinner while I watched the State of the Union address. I've decided that the best time for me to do this is in the evening. This is because if I try to do it during the day, I know I'll find tons of work-related excuses to skip it...a book that needs reading or editing, phone calls to make, conference calls to listen to, emails to answer. I also know that I won't do it in the morning...I wasn't born a morning person, despite the fact that I had to get up at 4am to take care of the horses before school, and fifty years later that hasn't changed. I also heard that exercising about 4 hours prior to bedtime helps with sleep. I've never been a good sleeper, and over the last couple years I've had bouts of insomnia that have lasted months at a time, so I'm going to try it and hope that it works.
When I sat down to tally up my carbs, sugar, and calories this evening I was shocked to see how low it came in. I didn't feel deprived or hungry at all; probably a result of the extra protein and additional water I'm drinking. So, I'm going to splurge and eat a half of a gluten-free chocolate chip cookie I bought at Sprouts. I love them...and it's been calling my name for two days. I don't know how many calories are in them, but even if it's 300 in 1/2 a cookie, I'll still be under my daily calorie quota. So when I'm done here, I'm going to sit and watch American Idol with a hot cup of Sleepytime Tea and my cookie.
So here's today's damage:
Breakfast: (24 carb/2 sugar/230 cal.)
- 1 Arbonne Metabolism Boost (forgot to take one before lunch and dinner though!)
- 1 cup coffee with half and half
- 1 Light English Muffin spread with Light Garlic & Herb Laughing Cow wedge and topped with two-egg white scramble
Lunch: (15 carb/9 sugar/210 cal.)
- Arbonne Chocolate Protein Shake mixed with unsweetened Almond Milk
Dinner: (31.5 carb/2.5 sugar/262 cal.)
- Cheesy Beefy Supreme Wrap from Hungry Girl 1-2-3 (page 78)
Snack: (???)
- Sleeptime Tea (0/0/0)
- 1/2 Sprouts Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookie (?/?/?)
Daily Total: 70.5+ carb / 13.5+ sugar / 702+ cal.
Considering my allowance is 120 carbs / 15 sugar / 1200 calories, I don't think I've done too badly. I've got to tell you, though, the tough part is going to be the sugar. Sugar seems to be in absolutely everything--even the healthy stuff like fruits and vegetables--so I'm not going to beat myself up over it should I exceed those 15 sugar grams on some days. But being conscious of it should help.
How are you doing on your healthy living goals? Thanks for keeping me accountable.